“We always give thanks to God for all of you…”

This Sunday was my installation as pastor of Oak Hill Presbyterian Church. It’s how, in our tradition, we seal the deal and officially make me the legit pastor, finally put an end to the search process, and have an excuse to eat an obscene amount of cake. Because we love sitting in pews for hours, hate watching football, have no social lives, want all the local clergy and Presbie people in town to be able to join in such a celebration, we hold installations on Sunday afternoons after the normal morning worship. So, Sunday morning I preached a quick sermonette and then asked the congregation to join me in preaching creatively on our passage (1 Thessolonians 1:1-10) by offering up what they give thanks for in our congregation. We passed out ribbons and sharpies and they offered up their thanks for our church. In between services, some scissors, duct tape and I turned those ribbons into the paraments for the installation service, as a gift to God from our congregation on that particular day. I am so thankful for the witness of this community. I am thankful that God called me to join with them in service. And also, I am thankful for their cake. Amen.

photo (12)

image (10)  image (7)

Leave a Reply

