Thursday Prayer

My knees tremble. I am unsure. This is hard.

Press on.

Did you see their fear? Did you see that scene? How? How, my God…

Press on.

Everywhere I turn people are crying, people are hurting, people are enraged.

Press on.

These systems are overwhelming. The process of making the changes we need is daunting.

Press on, you say.

I know we need pushing, but I don’t want to break them.

Press on.

I’m quite sure at some point, I’ll say the wrong thing.

Press on, you say.

But look at the numbers, I hear someone whisper.

Press on.

And I am so tired.

Press on.

Because it’s not about me.

Press on.

And really, it’s not even about us.

Press on.

It’s you.

Press on.

After all this time, and all this work, and all this stuff, I still want to know you.

Press on.

It’s that simple. I want to know you.

Press on.

To follow you.

Press on.

To love you.

Press on.

To love like you.

Press on.

Because you changed me.

Press on.

Because you changed us.

Press on.

Because you changed everything.

Press on.

And love was different.

Press on.

You’re love is different.

Press on.

So, I can. I will. I am pressing on.

Toward that holy goal of following your call.

Wherever it may lead.

Even when it is hard.

Because of you.

Hold us, Lord, as we keep pressing.

Amen.

 

(Reference: Philippians 3:4b-14)

Leave a Reply

